Question about Refusing Care

newEMT

Forum Crew Member
I'm a new EMT, and I was wondering what to do in the following scenario.

Dispatched for vehicle accident. When arrive, there is 1 patient in the vehicle with no apparent injuries. Patient states that they want to refuse care. Do you have to stabilize their C-spine while you're checking to see if they are competent to refuse care?

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Okay, they refuse to be treated, and your doing what? Remember, before you are to touch someone (if they are awake) you ask to help them (consent?) If they refuse treatment ask the simple questions to obtain they are competent and orientated enough to make decisions. Advise, risk, alternatives, and sign refusal, get witness if possible.. then by-by to another call.

R/r 911

NJN

The Young One
Textbook side of me says yes, always suspect c-spine until you rule it out, even if they are going to RMA. I would hold c-spine until you have completed your assessment and they are competent and understand risks of RMA-ing, and once they officially refuse care then i would let go.

Real world side of me says that it depends on what your scene size up is, how is the car damaged, what appeared to have happened, was the driver wearing a seat belt and did they appear to hit their head on anything. If its a small fender bender, minimal damage, and they aren't complaining of any pain and are competent to refuse, then most likely wouldn't.

This is all done if they consent to be at least assessed.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
N

newEMT

Forum Crew Member
I would have to get vital signs though according to our protocol. How would you deal with a patient who didn't want you to even take their pulse or BP? Sorry, these are really basic questions but we never really talked about these issues in EMT class and I don't want to screw up.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
First, welcome to EMTLife!