Question about MRSA?

MyLoveIsMyBaby

Forum Ride Along
I'm a NJ certified EMT. And I have no idea about this thing MRSA. I always wear gloves and wash my hands after each patient. And why aren't we taught about MRSA. My f/t job sent me to transport a patient with MRSA, never told me what precautions I need to take. I arrive on scene, go upstairs, ask the staff @ the facility what king of precautions do I need to take, and they said just gloves, I asked if the patient is Airborne, they stated the pt used to be airborne on the 5th floor. I'm trying to get incontact with the person I need to @ my job, but no answer. What precautions should I have took, me and my partner, and if proper gloves, handwashing, and cleaning were performed are we @ risk for this infection? What precautions do you as EMT's take for MRSA? I ask cause I have a 2 yr old, and I'm concerned for the safety of self, and child.

JPINFV

Gadfly
Your EMT class probably included very little, if any, microbiology. Did you learn about C-Diff? VRE? ...and the list goes on.

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus is a drug resistant strain of a common bacteria. In general, standard precautions work well against spreading it. Wash your hands, wear gloves, clean the unit. If the infection is localized in the nose, then droplet isolation precautions should be taken (mask, gloves, gown when in close proximity to the patient). As such, if the infection in the nose has been cleared (defeated), but the patient remains infected elsewhere (say, in a wound), then it is very possible that the patient was under droplet isolation at one point in time, but not when you transported the patient.

Links:
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/mrsa/DS00735

http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dhqp/ar_MRSA.html

firecoins

IFT Puppet
yeah I only saw it 2x the first time

OP
OP
M

MyLoveIsMyBaby

Forum Ride Along