Question about event safety

apagea99

Forum Lieutenant
Hey all,

Since I'm a noob I figured I'd ask those of you who know the ropes here. I just came back from my company's annual picnic and something struck me.....there was no EMS presence at all (there were several armed parking attendants and security guards though lol). I work for a decent sized company, and the attendance for this thing can hit 1,000+ easily. Add to that an unlimited supply of alcohol, the heat of summer, shuttle buses running between 2 locations all day, mechanical bulls, horse rides, those giant blow-up play things for kids, and the fact that our workforce is always high strung and you have a recipe for disaster. Should an event like this have a mandatory EMS presence? It seems like a pretty huge liability not to.

On a side note, I won a drawing for a guitar and left before all the drunks hit the road. :D

Last edited by a moderator:

reaper

Working Bum
Company has to pay to have EMS coverage at their event. Something you would want to bring up to the company.

OP
OP
A

apagea99

Forum Lieutenant
They're paying for all of these people to walk around with guns, I would expect they'd pay for a medic or 2 as well. I'll try bringing it up and see what happens.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I've found that many companies just don't think about it, but are pretty receptive when it's suggested. Back home in Michigan we'd have EMS standby for large corporate events, sports games of all times, and big gatherings. I've found that not to be the case in North Carolina.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
I have found having EMS at such events is a waste of EMS, company money and both parties time. Really, do we have to have an infirmary on all such occurrences? Can someone not call 911?

I get tired of the "what ifs" .. on every event from dog shows to cage fights.