Medical school graduate....

titans

Forum Ride Along
Hi,

I worked as an EMT-B before I went to medical school. I graduated from medical school this past summer and would like to get involved with EMS again. I am currently in the process of applying for residency so I have time off until July before I start my internship. What are my options as far as getting involved with the local EMS. My EMT certification has expired. Im currently in Texas. Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks for reading!!

rmellish

Forum Captain
A number of states, (Indiana for one) will allow an MD to simply challenge the tests without being forced to retake the courses.

The same may be true for paramedic in some areas with valid ACLS, PALS, etc, I really can't speak to that.

VentMedic

Forum Chief
Contact an ED physician and/or the medical director of a busy EMS system and set up a shadowing for the next few weeks. You may even get some ride time out of it. You will be functioning as a physician in the future and not as a first-aider.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
get involved as in work to achieve higher standards, write protocols, train new emts etc or get involved as in go back to 3am three floor carry downs for the acute left toe pain x 37 weeks?

if its the latter, bravo sir for being dedicated enough to street work to get an md and still hump ambulance calls. on a related note, when was your last cat scan?

OP
OP
T

titans

Forum Ride Along
Contact an ED physician and/or the medical director of a busy EMS system and set up a shadowing for the next few weeks. You may even get some ride time out of it. You will be functioning as a physician in the future and not as a first-aider.