Just Started

olegs

Forum Ride Along
Hey Guys
just started with a private, going through training. Now I am really starting to question if this is for me....it's like i just now am starting to realize how serious this job really is and im getting pretty scared. I also cant seem to find a part of the job that I truly like....i can deal with driving, I am scared of dealing with patients...doesnt really leave me much else
So the question is -- did anybody else go through this process?

Diver911

Forum Probie
I can't speak for everyone else but NO! I did not have second guesses when it came to patient care.. I was an excellent student and new that if put in a situation I could help someone. But I thrive on these situations.. I want to be the one making the decisions and providing the care..

Is that everyone... NOPE!

Only you are going to know whether or not you can deal with it.. we do not know you and can only speak of our experiences.... you are going into patient care.. so no it doesn’t leave you with much else.. you can deal with driving.. good for you.. then maybe you should become a taxi driver!

Think about your motivation.. what is driving you to become an EMT? Because this is a serious "job" and your decisions are going to save peoples lives.. we cant answer whether or not YOU can deal with it.. only you can..

Dig deep down inside you and come up with an answer.. you might be surprised.... you started the journey... but can you finish it....

ccems644

Forum Probie
It takes time to build your confidence and the only way to build it is to work patients and lots of training. I have helped out with a few EMT classed here is something I tell the students that is helpful. When you look at a patient just keep in the back of your mind they have all the same parts(in most cases) as you do. Relax Take a deep breath think about what is wrong and treat it. BSI, Scene SAFE, ABC's, SAMPLE, treat/transport..... piece of cake.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru