Going to be an Army Medic soon. What's it like?

Anthony7994

Forum Crew Member
A while back I was sworn into the Army at MEPS (what a lovely place) and on my contract I have a job reserved as a ranger medic,68 Whiskey Option 40, in which I ship to basic for on October 17th. I'm very excited, because although I'm new to EMS, I love it more than anything. I just got my NREMT-B and was told I would not have to attend the first few weeks of Medic AIT since I have that. Is this true? And I was wondering if anybody had any first and experience being 68 Whiskey and could tell me what the training is like? And What SOCM (special ops combat medic) is like?

Oh, and at any point during my time in this will I be able to attempt the NREMT-I or P? Thanks. :)

Last edited by a moderator:

usafmedic45

Forum Deputy Chief
The search function is your friend. BTW, welcome to the suck.

DESERTDOC

Forum Lieutenant
Head over to SOCNET.com. You will find a host of spec ops folks, AD and retired to include PJ, 18D, Ranger Battalion Surgeons etc etc. It is a no BS site tread lightly, it in unlike any other. Read the stickie in the lounge by Ranger MK 19. Many lifetimes of experience by those who have gone down the Ranger path.

Good luck with your Option 40.

ETA: I am not a Ranger.

325Medic

Forum Lieutenant