Exhausted 2010 Edition.

spiffy

Forum Probie
Okay... I'm only a student... and a new one at that. There are so many things going on in my life already being a single full time mom of two kids plus having to work full time and still finding time to study. I know it's probably only going to get worse til school is finished and I find an EMT job. Anyone have any suggestions on how to juggle everything and still have this thing that people call sleep? I've already given up on having this other thing people call a social life but I'd like to be able to still have time to spend with the kids without being completely drained by the time I first wake up.

VinBin

Forum Captain
I'm assuming you're taking the EMT-B course? It must be hard, especially with kids. The short answer is that you don't try to juggle more than work, school, and kids. In other words, eat right (a big trap for those starting EMS is to live on junk) and don't worry about your social life for now. Your profile says you work in front office at the hotel, can you fit in some studying during work?

In either case, just suck it up for the 3 or so months the program will take and don't lose focus...

firetender

Community Leader Emeritus
Maybe not so encouraging, but...

You know, MMIZ, I think if you got an honest poll (I'd start one but choose to remain ignorant of how to do it) you'd find most medics ride the adrenaline roller-coaster.

The business is unpredictable, therefore it takes a lot of discipline to protect your energy and sanity. My experience is most medics simply do not have that kind of discipline. They expend everything they have during shifts (often because it calls upon them to do so), and then COMPENSATE rather than BALANCE: zone out; drink out; sleep; drug (usually minor recreational); video; crash; or you name it.