ER Clinical Shifts. Anyone else have a hard time?

PimpHandLooseNJ95

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys,

Little background im a paramedic student in NJ in a 2 year medic school program. the program is a hybrid program that consists of 6 consecutive semesters (summer also) that has online lectures and course work/case studies, once a week skill labs, and has clinical shifts in hospital in every semester with semester 5 and 6 consisting solely of field time. right now im in my third semester which is only clinical work in the ER and OR with anesthesia.

So this semester we have to do 88 hours in the ER and are now capable of giving drugs, ACLS skills, and 12 leads. I did my first 2 shifts last week and I feel really ****ty and down about everything. Its very hard to find any nurse that actually wants to let you do anything. When I come in to the ER to start my shift i usually go around and let the nurses know what skills im capable of doing but then it seems they never come to get me to do any of them. I do walk around the ER (small ER with about 20 beds and 5 nurses) and ask if they need any IVs started or any meds i can give but then i feel like im annoying them and i can tell they just don't want me around. its a fine line between asking too much to do stuff and then not doing anything because i didn't ask. Its very frustrating. A lot of the younger nurses are very stuck up and are quite nasty to me for no reason

There are a few nurses that will take you under their wing and teach you stuff but most just dont want to be bothered at all. I'll definitly meet all my clinical objectives this semester but im just not enjoying my ER time and not really learning much other than drawing meds, starting lines, and doing 12 leads. The ER is whole different environment than the field and i feel a lot of the work wont carry over. And i know everyone says "you get what you make of it" but im trying pretty hard and honestly not getting much from it