EMT IV Certification

rapple

Forum Ride Along
Hello all,

This is my first post I've been a lurker for a while but never commented or started any threads until now.

A little background on myself; I am currently studying for my EMT through a college in AZ and have been learning a TON of stuff. It's been awesome! I'll be going in for the NREMT in December. However, one thing that my instructors haven't been too keen on answering at this point, is extra certifications. I've been hearing about EMT's who work ED or even on the bus getting IV Certs. I have been searching and searching for more information on this and everything has ended up as a dead end.

So I'm just wanting to know if any of you guys know anything about obtaining this? I know that some of the outllying states have courses for this but I haven't seen anything in AZ. Any information is appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Never heard of it for AZ. The states that have it, it's only for providers operating in those states. And if you work as an ED tech its usually part of your OJT

WildlandEMT89

Forum Lieutenant
We have it in az, not really useful unless you are rural bls without als capabilities. My departmant was going to sponsor be through a program put on by Team Concept but I ended up working a shift instead that day.

In very limited circumstances somr of the ambulance companies utilize EMTs with IV cert but it's on a case to case basis and the area you work in.

With all that said it would be cool to have, but unless you find yourself working at a place that states it would be useful to have, I would save your money.

If you want to work as a tech instead look into an EKG course.

Household6

Forum Asst. Chief
Premium Member
Here it depends on the service you work for. My employer has three emergency medical directors that are super keen on training and Basics on extra skills and signing variances.