Does anyone have trouble getting accurate BPs in the back of the ambulance?

kashton

Forum Probie
I went through EMT Basic in January and have finished all but the NREMT exam for Paramedic certification and I still have a little trouble getting an accurate BP while enroute to the hospital on occasions. Sometimes it is easy to hear but other times I simply have no way of getting an accurate reading... which can be a critical part of my assessment of my patient... are there any tricks you know of to help me out a little bit since I am rather new at this? Thanks!

katgrl2003

Forum Asst. Chief
You will probably get tired of hearing this. Practice, practice, practice.

I work with a medic, and I was having the same issue about a week ago on a long distance run. I told him to pull over. If you have the time, and the patient condition allows it, take the pressure before you start transporting. That way, you will have a good baseline for the next one you take.

-Kat

OP
OP
K

kashton

Forum Probie
In my clinical times we almost always took at least one BP before leaving the scene it was just the enroute times were sometimes difficult, but yes, practicing will probably solve the problem.

OP
OP
K

kashton

Forum Probie
Yes, that usually works but the diasolic is important too, especially in a hypertensive crisis

Last edited by a moderator:

enjoynz

Lady Enjoynz
THe EMT-I's I crew with, always use the lazy person's BP, NIBP off the Defib.:blink:
But pulling over and taking it on route is the other best option I've found.
It's a 1/2 hour drive for us to transport to hospital, so we have set places on route to pull over and take vitals. Of course this depends on how sick your pt is as well:excl:

Cheers Enjoynz

katgrl2003

Forum Asst. Chief
Ok, I gotta admit, I use the lazy person's BP too. But if I start getting some really wonky numbers, I'll take it the regular way.

-Kat

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief