Do we question enough?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Have you ever had a moment where you had to stop and think... I mean really think?

I hate to say it, but I rarely thought deeply when I worked as an EMT. I'd see something and treat it. See it, treat it.

Then there was that time when I left the medical history of a patient in the patient's room, and I only realized it as we were driving to the hospital. In back was me and the service's lead Paramedic/FTO. He made me take out the patient's medications, read them, and then tell him what they were for. Not too bad, especially with the help of my quick-flip. Then he asked me why the patient was experiencing their condition.

I honestly don't remember the condition, or why, but I remember the feeling of "oh crap I should have known this."

I just had a flashback to that moment of embarrassment, and wonder how many other folks out there may have been in the same boat. It seems as though during EMT school I couldn't stop questioning, and then all of a sudden I stopped thinking.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Matt, you are becoming very wise..

I believe we are attempting to teach "treat and street" medicine. Unfortunately, I even see physicians do this more and more. Then when the patient reappears back to the ER in a worse condition or more ill, we are puzzled. Majority of misdiagnosis of all medical complaints is lack of a good history, and poor assessment skills.

I was taught in medic school there were 4 components of obtaining a medical diagnosis...
-History
-History
-Detailed assessment
-History

There is a fine art to questioning patients and even peers. One does not need to elaborate, but rather fine tune and point/direct the questions to obtain an accurate history. I suggest watching interview techniques from different specialties. Not all questions will and should be the same, in regards to the chief complaint. i.e. .. o.b. versus headache.