Counting Respirations

bama_j_ram

Forum Ride Along
I am in the EMT Basic program right now and i had a question for you veterans out there. Now as a newbie, i have a little bit of a hard time with counting respirations by looking at the chest. I was wandering if any of you count resp rate by using your stethoscope and act like you are listening to there heart, but really be counting resp rate. Because i can hear breathing way better that way.
Thanks for any feedback,
bama_j_ram

lightsandsirens5

Forum Deputy Chief
That works.

If they are wearing an NRB, you can count by watching it fog up when they exhale.

I like to get pulse and resps at the same time. I grab their wrist with my right hand, lie it across their abd, and count pulse in my head and resps on my left hand. Don't even think about the number with the resps, just every time your hang goes up and down, stick out another finger. Count for however long they teach you and multiply. This method also eliminates having to sit there and stare at the pt for 15-30 seconds while they wonder what you are doing.

OP
OP
B

bama_j_ram

Forum Ride Along
i appreciate that, never heard about the hand across the abdomen while taking the pulse. but if you think i will get an accurate resp rate from auscultation, then that is great, cause i can hear so good that way
thanks a ton, bama_j_ram

Hockey

Quackers
Try to place your hand on their shoulder facing downward. You can feel the chest rise and fall. Not only that, the patient may look at that as a comfort/caring touch. Twice the benefit

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Step 1: Loudly demand that they breath normally......

Pulse, resp at the same time.

The receiving doc will be happier with "Unlabored, about 18/min and reg", or "labored, about 18 to 24/min with dim BS left lower", than "17.5/min", period.

Unless the doc is a stickler and has bad experience with EMT's.

VentMedic

Forum Chief