Clinicals

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Hello!

I'm an EMT-B student about to start clinicals. I'm pretty confident because I've already taken an almost equivalent course, but I'm a bit anxious about clinicals. I'm really excited but I'm doing half of them at a busy level 1 trauma center.

Any tips, words of caution or tales are greatly appreciated. :)

Another point... I'm concerned that I won't be taken seriously by patients or staff because of my age. My first shift is less than a week after my 18th birthday. I'm mature and I don't look too terribly young, but I'm definitely noticeably younger than the vast majority of EMT students.

Thanks ahead of time for any help!

piranah

Forum Captain
I'm a basic and a paramedic student and im only 18....just show your maturity and your knowledge and respect and the rest will follow......they realize you have to start somewhere...dont worry about it...

lcbjr3000

Forum Probie
The best way to learn is to ask alot of question. The ones your working with were in your shoes at one point too. If they tell you to do something you can do then do it. If you cant do it tell them and they will show you how. Dont try and do something you have no business doing. Other than that enjoy it and have one. Your on your way to a very hard and rewarding career

james

Forum Crew Member
I did my clinicals in a US Army Hospital in Germany, I learned a lot from the doc's thier. I asked so many questions that they almost got fed up with me but at the end They ofered me a job. But I could not take the job. Always remember to stay within your skill level.

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
Show a willingness to pitch in and help with the boring stuff too. If you show a willingness to help make beds or run errands, the person you helped out will be more likely to call you in on the juicy stuff.

Remember ER work is a team effort, if you just want to be a spectator, they will leave you in the stands watching from a distance.

Airwaygoddess