Checking up after the fact

plumdragon

Forum Probie
I am in EMT-B school right now, and had my first clinical run last night. Very bad GSW to the chest, serious trauma for little bitty county ambulance service. ALS unit, tho, and they medflighted him to the nearest trauma center.

I want to check up and see how the guy is doing, if he made it, basically. What's the best protocol for doing so? I know he won't remember me if I turn up at ICU or whatever, but is it ok to call the hospital and say "I was an EMT last night for this guy, can you tell me if he is going to be ok?"

I'm not worried about being pushy or what to ask, just don't want to cross any confidentiality lines and set myself (and the other EMTs or my instructor) up as an idiot for not knowing any better. Help?

To top it all off, had a priority 0 about 30 minutes later who choked on his steak dinner. My first serious trauma and first CPR and first death, all in the same night. The on-call medics called me a "s**t magnet".

medic417

The Truth Provider
If you want to follow up be best to check with the crew you rode out with. Hospital will probably not tell you anything since they do not know you.

PapaBear434

Forum Asst. Chief
They can't give you any information involving the patient's well being or condition, as it's a violation of HIPPA laws. But typically, if you're on duty the next night and so is one of the receiving nurses, you guys can talk a little more about the patient. You're really not supposed to, but it's one of those things.

I've even gone back to check on a patient later in my shift, to see how they are doing. Just show up at their room after my paperwork is done for another patient.

But just checking up by calling the hospital... No, they won't do that, and you could probably get scolded for even asking.

WuLabsWuTecH

Forum Deputy Chief