CCEMT-P cert?

silverTTQC

Forum Ride Along
Hey everyone, new to this board and was needing some help. I'm a paramedic in Charlotte, NC but specialize in working as a clincial/surgical assistant in vascular medicine.

I've been interested in obtaining my CCEMT cert. for some time but have not found what I'm looking for, partly due to not knowing whats available.

First off, CCEMT-P certs are all classroom based programs currently, correct? Are there any online based programs? Also from a previous thread I saw that one member said that so many years field experience is required before being able to enter into a CC program. Is this also correct? I only have approx. 1yr. experience as a paramedic in the field. I had opted to take my experience into more clinical situations and have worked Level II trauma ER, Urgent Care, Orthopaedics and now Vascular medicine. Would this limit myself from being able to getting into a CC program?

Also what exactly is the differentiation between FP-C and CCEMT-P? Are these two interrelated or separate entities?

I'm interested in obtaining my CC cert. to increase my education/knowledge base, increase my credientialing, increase my scope of practice and poss. get into a CCEMT-P/Flight position sometime down the road.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Kevin Yost

ErinCooley

Forum Lieutenant
I don't know how far you are from Augusta but there a CCEMT course is taught there.. I think its 1 Friday a week for 2 months ?!?! Hope that helps some.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
first, welcome.

ccemt-p is critical care medic. fp-c is flight paramedic-certified. the are, to the best of my knowledge, totally seperate. we have several cc's and fp-c around that will chime in and give you the whole story.

also, you might try the forum search feature, as this topic has been brought up many times.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Let's clarify things. It is important to understand the "business" of EMS and why there is confusion.