Another new student needs a scope rec.

User_Name

Forum Ride Along
Like the title says, I am looking for a new scope. I've got a spraque and it really sucks. I have really poor hearing-not enough for a hearing aid, but I am sure I will need one in the future. The one I have now produces a lot of artifact and I am sure it is the ear pieces, but outside sound makes things worse. When I worked as a vet assistant, I loved the littmanns, but I don't think I can afford a nice one. I am considering a select or this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/Cardiology-II-S...ryZ11824QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem since they are somewhat in my price range. I have heard good things about the big shears model, but was not sure.

Thanks for your help.

OP
OP
U

User_Name

Forum Ride Along
Wow that was fast. I have already read that one. I geuss I am really asking what scope would suit me considering I have significant loss in both ears as well as chronic tinnitus. Also, I was hoping I could find someone with that has some experience with those big shears scope.

I am a college trained musician and my loss hasn't affected me too bad since I took several years to train myself to function. I know I can do the same here, but starting with a decent scope will certainly help.

Airwaygoddess

Forum Deputy Chief
Those are pretty darn nice and also have a great warrenty! Wow what a great price!! I love my Littman!:)

firecoins

IFT Puppet
I would start off with a Littman. It has the best reputation. I don't know how to figure in partial hearing loss into the equation.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Get one that fits best into your ear canals. It does not matter the brand, price or gizmos or "how cool" they look.

It is what is between your ears that counts, not so much of what you place in them. Unless you can detect S1-S4, gallops or murmors, crescendos, clicks, prolapsed valves, etc.. Then why not get the cheapest, and most dependable?..

R/r 911

Mercy4Angels

Forum Lieutenant