America?

bled12345

Forum Crew Member
I'm a Canadian EMT-A (EMT-I equivilant in the states) It took me about a year and a half of school and practicums to finally be certified and licensed to work.

In Canada, the "EMT-B" is called an Emergency Medical Responder. The only work EMR's are able to find in alberta canada, is medical standby on the oil rigs, or in *VERY* rural townships of like 500 people only, and even then there is never typically 2 EMR's on an ambulance by themselves, there is usually at least always an EMT-A riding on truck.

From reading this website, I keep getting the feeling that EMT-B's actually work in urban settings on BLS trucks independent of the ALS trucks, are EMT-B's able to work in major metropolitan areas? Or like Canada, are you only able to get jobs in very small communities, or doing medical standby's for construction. I'm confused. And where do the EMT-I's fall in to place down there? is EMT-I manditory on your way to becoming an EMT-P? Here in canada you HAVE to have your EMR before you can get your EMT-A, just like you HAVE to have your EMT-A before you can even think of applying to a paramedic school.

Anyone care to fill me in?

uscgk9

Forum Crew Member
Some schools that have a paramedic program start with EMT-B and go straight through Paramedic. Those schools usually require successful completion of the B portion prior to continuing on. Whether or not you test out at the I level is up to you most of the time. The students that are not affiliated with an agency yet usually just wait to test P so they don't have to pay the testing fees.

As for employment, it varies depending on where you are. At the last 2 states I lived in EMT-Bs did perform patient care in the back all by themselves. Some agencies have a Paramedic and a Basic running as a team and depending on the level of care needed the B could run the back with the P driving. Again it is different all over the country.

I hope that helped answer your question.

Sapphyre