Your Gear?

badmofo

Forum Ride Along
I am a paramedic with the Detroit Fire Department and we have been fighting for new gear and training for our members for years now. I know the city is broke but the Fire Department budget is over 260 million and EMS only accounts for 23 of that. We have been battling our Chief and the city on proper protective gear for our techs because we have had several injuries over the past few months. The only thing EMS Techs in Detroit don't do is enter burning buildings.
We are only provided with an orange safety vest, extrication gloves, a non NFPA helmet, safety glasses, and an N95 particulate mask. I am just wondering what other departments are issued as far as protective gear goes? The more information I get the better because according to our chief few other departments provide EMS with safer gear than what we have. Thanks everyone!

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Helmet (not sure if NFPA), a greenish/yellow safety vest, and N-95/P-100. That's all.

Achilles

Forum Moron
I am a paramedic with the Detroit Fire Department and we have been fighting for new gear and training for our members for years now. I know the city is broke but the Fire Department budget is over 260 million and EMS only accounts for 23 of that. We have been battling our Chief and the city on proper protective gear for our techs because we have had several injuries over the past few months. The only thing EMS Techs in Detroit don't do is enter burning buildings.
We are only provided with an orange safety vest, extrication gloves, a non NFPA helmet, safety glasses, and an N95 particulate mask. I am just wondering what other departments are issued as far as protective gear goes? The more information I get the better because according to our chief few other departments provide EMS with safer gear than what we have. Thanks everyone!

Detroit 'eh?
What station are you at?
Are you in the Burn documentary?

325Medic

Forum Lieutenant