yelling at your patient

okiemedic

BLS Healthcare Provider Instructor
I'm guilty of this.

Anybody else come to a point where you've had a regular pain in the butt patient and had enough?

I had a patient today and two nurses came along. one was a brand new nurse and the other was a vet and were taking a patient to CT (i'm a transport tech in a hospital) This patient we had was a regular patient in the hospital and has a pretty large potty mouth and complains about everything.

The vet and I were talking about how she acts and the new nurse asked us "how can you talk about people like that? they are all my babies".

We get her down to CT. She's a double amputee with a severe open wound on her leg from lack of care caused by her own neglect. She starts cursing at us and telling us she's gonna beat the crap out of us if we move her to the table. She then pulls up her gown and demands I look at her vagina (wtf? lol)....

The vet nurse tells her we are going to transfer her now. She looks at him and says " Whats in it for me!!" He gets real close to her and says "How about your life!!!". That pretty much shut her up lol.

avdrummerboy

Forum Lieutenant
We have a regular drunk out here that gets transported all the time and he gets yelled at by every crew for abusing the 911 system and calling for no reason.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Ehhh, no point in really yelling at patients. I've seen some providers get worked up and yell over stupid things. The one time I will tell at a patient is if they are doing something that may or will injure myself or my partner.

RedAirplane

Forum Asst. Chief
Out of curiosity, why is it that some people call 911 too frequently, and others not frequently enough?

One memorable call was that of a sister for her brother when he decided to have a sip of beer. She was convinced he was going to die.