Worries

bryanpearl

Forum Crew Member
I'm an EMT with about 1 1/2 years of experience (Private transport emergent/non emergent) and I'm about to relocate at the end of the year to Southern California. I keep reading horror stories of people not able to find work for months, and it's really worrying me. My goal ultimately is to get into a fire department, and get my Paramedic and live happily ever after. I'm very motivated, but man this kind of thing is discouraging.

Basically, does anyone have any actual advice or is anyone who's actually working in the Socal/OC area have any advice?

(Also, sorry for yet one more of the 10,000,000,000 SoCal EMS posts..)

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Your best bet to get hired with a fire department is to already be a medic. Very few departments hire EMTs anymore.

OP
OP
B

bryanpearl

Forum Crew Member
Well I would be willing to get my medic ahead of time, I have looked into it a bit. Although, when I spoke to someone at a college in the area about their accelerated medic program they informed me that it was mainly fire fighters being put in it via their departments. For the time being my main worry is finding an EMT job that would pay me at least what I make now (12.00/hr)..

ghost02

CA Flight Paramedic
Well, where are you going in Socal? We can take a look at some options when we find out what part of socal you are going to be at.

OP
OP
B

bryanpearl

Forum Crew Member
I appreciate that very much, most likely I will be going to Anaheim. I am going to visit in a couple of months to hopefully land something or make a good impression..

ghost02

CA Flight Paramedic
Ok, Orange county was a good call because there are a ton more options for you. Here are a few, these are 911/ift privates.

Care
McCormick (Lots of action in Inglewood)
Gerber
Shaefer