Why the hate on dialysis runs?

SurfEMT

Forum Probie
I've been an EMT for several years in the LA area and have never IFT'd a dialysis patient. Yep. True story. When I mention this to others, the response is that I'm lucky, or that being a "dialysis taxi" sucks, or words and sentiments to that effect. So excuse my Mary Poppins moment when I ask: "What's so awful about transporting dialysis pts.? Why the hate on dialysis runs? What can I expect when I finally get one?"
Thanks.

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Nothing.

It's the people that thought getting their EMT would immediately get them a ticket to running shootings, rollovers, and cardiac arrests every shift who complain incessantly about it.

In reality, many EMT jobs are almost purely IFT. Dialysis patients make companies a lot of money. Almost a guaranteed six transports a week until well, often times death. Anyone that thinks these patients are beneath them compared to other IFT transports is not seeing the whole picture. Often times EMTs will moan about how dialysis patients don't really need an ambulance to get to the clinic. Whether or not they are right are wrong does not get around the fact that many of the ED to SNF discharges or BLS hospital to hospital calls also probably don't need ambulance level of care. BLS IFTs by definition are not acutely ill, but that does not mean they do not need medically trained transportation, and like it or not the BLS ambulance is about all that exists in this country to provide that.

unleashedfury

Forum Asst. Chief
Generally dialysis runs the patients require no medical attention, and you become a shuffle truck so to speak.

You run one to dialysis, return another, and that's your day shuffling dialysis patients.

Which gets kinda boring after a while, But reality is IFT dialysis runs pay the bills. Your paycheck and keeps the company in the green.

911 doesn't always guarantee a payday. Some insurances will pay some, if you get any money at all.