Who has the most authority at an EMS scene?

mfd229

Forum Probie
I am a paramedic at a volunteer fire department that runs an ALS ambulance. Our chiefs first respond in a take-home squad. A chief of mine and myself butt heads sometimes while on calls. Who is ultimately in charge and calls the shots? The paramedic, or a chief officer on strictly a medical call?

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
What does your SOP/SOG/By-Laws state?

Yes, ultimately you are the highest level provider and in charge of PATIENT CARE, however I have seen some whacky shyte come out of a few VFDs over the years.

hometownmedic5

Forum Asst. Chief
As far as I'm concerned, the person signing the chart is responsible for all patient care decisions. If you as a senior officer who is also medically qualified at an equal or higher level than I want something done differently, I am more than happy to allow you to take over patient care and attend to this patient. If you are not my equal in terms of certification, or you do not want to take over patient care, then I'm happy to take into account your opinions, but the decisions are mine to make. You can write me up tomorrow, but today I'm in charge of this patient.

There may be policies and procedures that contradict the above at this agency or that, but that is how I practice. I absolutely under no circumstances will allow somebody with little or no personal liability to dictate what I do or don't do on a call. Either take to case or stand aside. You don't get to make my medical decisions and then leave me to explain them.

StCEMT

Forum Deputy Chief
They can call the shots if they want to completely take over patient care for the remainder of the call. If not, they aren't running things. Not that suggestions aren't welcome if we're in a tougher situation or they spot something important that needs to be noted, but final say is mine to make if my name is on that report.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll