Where to get a cheap physical in San Diego?

train54

Forum Crew Member
So I am just starting out in getting my first EMT job... I got a response to one of my applications telling me that I need to have:

-Vaild County EMS Card from San Diego EMS

-CA Driver’s License

-Ambulance Driver’s License

-Clean Driving Record (less than 3 points, no DUIs in the past 36 months)

-CPR Card

-Green Medical Examiners Card (DL51)

-H6 within 10 days of interview (can be obtained at DMV)

-Applicants must have 2 points or less on H6

So I already have my drivers license, county cert, and CPR card. Next I need to get my Green Medical Examiners Card (DL51), and my Ambulance Driver’s License...

I need to get some new health insurance as mine is expensive! I pay $185 a month, and unless I want to wait until September it will cost me $200 to get a physical!

So I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a cheap place to get a physical? Or a cheaper solution for my insurance?

I was wondering about joining the NREMT association, as they say they have discount insurance options. But when I tried to contact them to inquire on it, I was unable to get any info (did not return email or voicemails I left). Anyone know anything about this?

lampnyter

Forum Captain
hmm usually when your getting hired by somewhere they pay for your physical. at least thats how it is here.

MDA

Forum Lieutenant
California DMV's need a livescan done to get your ambulance drivers cert., so that's an extra $50.
Ambulance driver cert fee and test is like $20ish.
Green card physical is approx $50 and can be done at almost any clinic as a walk in.

Should of had all that in order before applying as everywhere in CA expects that.

Also I find it weird that the driving record must be clean with 3 or less points, but the H6 has to show 2 points... they're one in the same I though?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader