WHen life isn't really extinct....

the_negro_puppy

Forum Asst. Chief

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Anyone ever experienced something like this? I'm not sure of what the situation was but jeez I wouldnt want to be the crew involved.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/...dead-found-alive/story-e6freonf-1226315855605

AMBULANCE Victoria is undertaking a review after a car crash victim declared dead by a paramedic was later found to be alive when cut from the wreck by a SES volunteer.....

Never experienced it first hand, heard of it several times.

I have never heard a case where the medics were not ultimately blamed in some way. (right or wrong, I have no inside knowledge on)

I can think of a few things off hand that would permit such error to reasonably occur. (like having a pulse and blood flow that was not palpable, not to be confused with having no pulse)

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
I have heard of a few similar cases but the medics or emts called it based on a pulse check and how "bad" the accident was.

WuLabsWuTecH

Forum Deputy Chief
We can't call it unless there is mortal wounds or we get a flatline on an ECG. That being said, with multiple patients on scene, they were not wrong to have left the patient and to go tend to the reds/yellows. As long as other were on scene, which it sounds like they were, they might not be in as much hot water as we think... I will admit that luck does have a part to do with them getting off if they do eventually, but it does seems like the same result regardless (the article just says no signs of life were found, in which case, tag black and move on to the next patient). The next volunteer showing up on scene will attend to the black or red-blue as appropriate assuming there are no more reds and yellows.

Last edited by a moderator:

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Heard of people getting ROSC for no apparent reason several times in my relatively short career. All ultimately died.

DrankTheKoolaid

Forum Deputy Chief
re