Whatz yer skillz?

TKO

Forum Lieutenant
Just wondering wat yer skillz as an EMS personelle are?

I am a Primary Care Paramedic in Saskatchewan, Canada.

We are trained in oxygen therapy, OPA's, ECG interpretation, AED use, we can administer Nitroglycerin, ASA and oral glucose, assist with Epi-pens and inhalers etc. We are also trained in IM/ Sub Q /NPA's but are currently not allowed to practice it ..hopefully in the next little while that will change. We are taught IV monitoring/discontinuation. Drug calcs and pharmacology is also required training. We use KED's, traction splits and full imbolilization procedure.
With the new programs beginning to take affect throughout Canada our BLS training isn't only limited to BLS. We learn alot of ALS physiology and skills to better prepare us in the future and help out in the field.

I am interested in learning about all other countries since one day I would like to travel and possibly work all over..

Second part of this post:

Every state has their own standards and everyone has different skills and levels. I am wondering if their has been any talk amongst American EMS that you will be following in Canadas footsteps and possibly adopting our new systems where it is a national standard of training throughout the provinces...the levels being Primary Care Paramedic, Advanced Care Paramedic and Critical Care Paramedic.

Looking forward to your responses.
B)

ResTech

Forum Asst. Chief
In Pennsylvania (not to far from your border) we have four levels of EMS providers.

1) First Responder
2) EMT-Basic
3) Paramedic
4) PHRN (Pre-hospital Registered Nurse)

Primarily our EMS system is run by EMT-B's and Paramedics in a two-tiered system where ambulances respond as BLS and ALS comes as a "chase" unit from the hospital.