What books do you still read up on / have or recommend.

Oxygenforeverybody

Forum Crew Member
I figured I'd post to see what books people read up on frequently or recommend for newbies.

I'm a EMT-B , Looking to work on a rig for awhile as well as working on my pre reqs for Nursing school.

I already go over my Textbook from class and other sources / notes I have but I know for example paramedics get a lot more text books to go along with medicine / terminology and all that good stuff. So yeah what do you have / suggest / still use?

NUEMT

Forum Lieutenant
Funny how this thread has no answers. But ask about a skill or a bad call and all the "rickys" come out to "rescue"

Excellent question wanting to read up. I would read, listen and video. Makes it more fun.

Blogs
EMCrit
Critmedic
Kelly Graysons Ambulance driver blog

ITunes
Confessions of an EMS newbie
PHARM podcast
Inside EMS

Books
Rapid interpretation of EKG's
Prehospital Pharmaocology

Youtube
Larry Melick

Understanding will come with a little bit of time. Stay up on as much as you can and never let anyone discourage you from trying to expand your knowledge base. I regularly have meaningful conversations with docs with no barriers because I read what they read.

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Or maybe it's because this question has been asked a ton. OP, do a search on here. Countless recommendations have been made.

gotbeerz001

Forum Deputy Chief
Funny how this thread has no answers. But ask about a skill or a bad call and all the "rickys" come out to "rescue"

Excellent question wanting to read up. I would read, listen and video. Makes it more fun.

Blogs
EMCrit
Critmedic
Kelly Graysons Ambulance driver blog

ITunes
Confessions of an EMS newbie
PHARM podcast
Inside EMS

Books
Rapid interpretation of EKG's
Prehospital Pharmaocology

Youtube
Larry Melick