Volunteer fire department conflict............... I may quit.

jedirye

Forum Lieutenant
So I joined my neighborhood's local volunteer fire department to get "experience". In this area, we are the first on the scene. There is a medic on the beach as well but it takes a while for an ambulance to show up, so we are fairly important. I've lived my whole life here and loved the idea of giving back to this community and also fine tuning my skills, as I am a new EMT-B but will be attending medic school in Aug. Most people that join do not live in the immediate area, so I am a little set apart since I live in the area and am expected to attend those middle of the night calls. I have no objections, I love it!