Volunteer Duty to Act?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EPFD112

Forum Probie
This question is rather in depth, but I'll try to keep it as short and sweet as possible. Please don't refer me to the sticky, I read it in depth and couldn't find an answer.

Background Info:
I'm a volunteer Firefighter/EMT-B in New York State. My department functions as a BLS rescue squad for EMS calls, with a paid ambulance service responding from a nearby city to transport. We're in a pretty rural area, covering about 60 square miles. I live 2 miles from the fire hall. My chief is only a CFR, as is my first assistant chief. Our second assistant only has basic CPR training. All three have full time jobs and sometimes none are available to respond. Here is the link to the NYS duty to act law, as found in the sticky: http://www.emtlife.com/showpost.php?...9&postcount=25 I also work full time as an EMT, so I'm not just some power hungry whacker volunteer who likes running a blue light to the scene.

Here's the scenario and question:
My department's policy states that only individuals chosen by the chief will be allowed to respond to the scene in their personal vehicles, all others must go to the fire hall and ride on a truck to the scene. Since I joined, all EMT's were issued BLS jump bags for their POV and allowed to go straight to the scene, but were encouraged to go to the fire hall and get on the truck when possible. My Chief is now trying to make it so that if we don't on the truck, we don't go to the call. There are several issues with this that I can see regarding duty to act though.