US Paramedic working in Australia?

Savage

Forum Ride Along
Greetings people,

I was reading through this forum, specifically about Americans going to Australia to work in EMS and sounded like a diverse group contributing to the discussion, so I hope you don't mind me asking a few questions myself.

I am currently a paramedic here in the US and going on about one year full time as a paramedic and had about three years as an EMT prior to my additional training. I have experience working in a fairly busy 911 service, I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Emergency Medical Care Administration and have certifications in ACLS, PALS, PHTLS, AMLS and PEPP as well as my NREMTP.

My wife and I both are young and have an interest in working abroad and Australia has really struck our interest. It would be at least 2, maybe 3 years before we would be ready to actually make plans/efforts and I have not done a great deal of research yet but Australia appears to be very progressive with their EMS services as compared to what we have here in the US. Before I pursue this much further, is it even worth my time and effort? Whats the likelihood of American paramedics (with B.S degrees related to EMS) being selected for employment? I know its often a case by case decision, but is it likely that they would honor my college degree? How much experience do they typically expect out of international recruits? Do they look at additional training and certificates obtained here?

I apologize if all these questions have been asked before! I tried to do some reading before posting.

Thanks for the time,

Savage.

sir.shocksalot

Forum Captain
Welcome Savage,

I will first say that most ambulance services in Australia require at least 2 years of experience. It sounds like this won't be an issue for you, but just keep it in mind.