UK Paramedic to Canada

simon33

Forum Ride Along
Hi I am looking to move to Canada and am looking at the equivilancy process for Alberta and Ontario but am also considering New Brinswick or Nova Scotia. The exact destination is not that important as we are simply looking to move for a better quality of life.

I was hoping for any advice from anyone who has undergone the PCP equivilancy process and what the exams are like. Also any advice on paramedic work from province to province would be great.

I intend to submit my paperwork soon and I have read I then have 24 months to sit the relevant exams. I have found some info on canadian paramedic protocols which I am looking through but any extra input is greatly appreciated. I am a UK HCPC registered paramedic with 7 years experience. UK paramedics seem to be between PCP and ACP so would be applying for PCP registration. I have read through the relevant sections on the province websites but any personal experience would help a lot.

Thanks

Simon

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Hello
I am an ACP in NB, NS, BC and an EMT-Paramedic in AB.
I received a majority of my training outside of Canada and transferred it into Canada. The process can take a while and can be expensive.

A lot of the provinces in Canada follow the NOCP www.paramedic.ca as a scope of practice or something similar.

Once you license in Canada you can port your license to any other province. You may have some restrictions on your license for a bit but it isn't that huge of an issue.
On the east coast the pay is low compared to the west coast. NS is hiring ACP's for sure but I am not sure how many PCP spots are available. www.emci.ca is their website...it also has links on licensing info.