Too soon ???

SWVAEMT

Forum Probie
I'm currently an EMT-B student. I take my exam Jan 19 and my practicals Jan 21. There's an Intermediate course that begins on Jan 31. Is this too soon to make the jump from B to I. Would I (and my patients) be better off if I got a little more practical experience under my belt?

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
The jump from EMT-B to Paramedic has been discussed here several times before, but I don' t think we've ever talked about the EMT-B to EMT-I jump.

My personal opinion is to wait a while and get some street experience under your belt. You'll gain confidence in your skills levels (and your patients can sense this) before you come after them with an 18ga needle. Also, you're better able to put the case studies into perspective during the EMT-I class.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
it's nice to have experience, but sincethis is Intermediate level I say go for it. There is not much diffference, and by the timeyou get through class you will have experience.

Good luck,
R/R 911

ExpatMedic0

MS, NRP
I think you should go for it ASAP if you can get in the class.
I started as a First Responder on a EMS explorer post, then I went to EMT-B then I went to EMT - Intermediate and I am a Paramedic student. I can tell you this, if you plan on going on or even if your not sure and thinking of going to Paramedic later and you feel you need more experience, education, and that extra edge then I Recommend intermediate.
It will help you get accepted over EMT-B's in some paramedic programs
You will learn your basic cardiac drugs and rhythms, and start to calculate basic drug calculations such as Lido. you'll get plenty of I.V. experience, and in the mean time no Transporting 911 agency who runs 1 emt and 1 medic on a rig or who runs ILS rigs wants to hire a EMT-B that can do nothing, when they can hire a EMT-I pay him or her almost the same rate and get everything out of them.