Tips for holding c spine?

Stingray91

Forum Crew Member
Quick question from a newbie here :unsure:..

Do you guys have any tips for how to position your body while holding c spine?
We're basically doing practicals until the State which is next month and a lot of students are having a hard time with getting a good position with their body on the floor while holding c spine.
For example, Trauma pt. is supine; the person at the head (holding c spine) is kneeling the whole time. This would be a "good" position so a decent log roll can be done, but this causes discomfort for a lot of the students' knees. One more example would be sitting down with the legs crossed (indian style) which is more comfortable than kneeling, but not such a good position to be in to do a log roll.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Do what's most comfortable for you, so long as you can still do what's required.

Standing, kneeling, laying down, bending over, sitting backwards.

HotelCo

Forum Deputy Chief
Do what's most comfortable for you, so long as you can still do what's required.

Standing, kneeling, laying down, bending over, sitting backwards.

This.

I find that sitting back on my feet while kneeling is comfortable enough.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mikie

Forum Lurker
If if wasn't a state test, i'd say use your knees/thighs if you're going to be down for a while, plus you can maintain the airway (to some degree)

edit: just don't get too close, for sexual assault purposes..

Last edited by a moderator:

dixie_flatline

Forum Captain
couldn't you kind of hold their head between your knee caps, while kneeling?

that way your hands are free if needed.

In Maryland that is an instant fail.