Thomas Guide Mapping

DChambers97

Forum Ride Along
Hello,

I'm new to this site and I just started training with McCormick Ambulance. I am in need of some tips for using the thomas guide. I understand page numbers and girds and having to know where you are on the map at all times. If you want to go up on the map you have to go left in the book by 30 pages, or if you want to go down on the map you have to go right in the book by 30 pages. I just need help/tips on how to route faster and more efficiently. This may be a bit confusing to some, but I would appreciate it if I can get help from anyone.

Thank you.

Jn1232th

Forum Captain
Just practice is really all it is. Just pick a start point and route to nearest ER or trauma center or fire station. Also driving the area your going to work in helps out too. I’m guessing Inglewood area is were lost McCormick people start off from what I heard.
Even though your probably never going to use it once you pass Fto training, it is useful knowledge to know and comes in handy every once In awhile when reception sucks

RedBlanketRunner

Opheophagus Hannah Cuddler
Just practice is really all it is.
the only way to get better is experience and practice.
One trick. Ignore street names. Familiarize yourself with general shape layouts of the grid. You can page flip much faster than trying to dial in on text. Watch somebody used to working with the guide. They flip through just recognizing the graphics of the page then zero in on the streets.

Last edited:

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
One trick. Ignore street names. Familiarize yourself with general shape layouts of the grid. You can page flip much faster than trying to dial in on text. Watch somebody used to working with the guide. They flip through just recognizing the graphics of the page then zero in on the streets.
what the heck are you talking about? ignore street names? just look at general shapes and layouts? that sounds like really bad advice.