Thinking about advancing to ALS...

EMDispatch

IAED EMD-Q/EMT
So, I've been an EMT now for almost 6 years. Obviously I'm a career dispatcher, but I've been toying with attending local community college for an ALS program. The end goal would be to pickup some side shifts, and advance myself personally.

The problem:
I run with a fire department where we essentially run as first responders, and waste what little skills basics have. On top of that I honestly haven't had a EMS gig riding a rig... I have the patient contacts required to get in to a program, but I'd have to say they weren't quality contacts.

I'm a college educated, detail oriented, and made the mistake of going to grad school instead of switching to nursing.

Should I hang up the idea? Try to find an IFT gig on the side to get more field experience? Or any other thoughts?

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT
So, I've been an EMT now for almost 6 years. Obviously I'm a career dispatcher, but I've been toying with attending local community college for an ALS program. The end goal would be to pickup some side shifts, and advance myself personally.

The problem:
I run with a fire department where we essentially run as first responders, and waste what little skills basics have. On top of that I honestly haven't had a EMS gig riding a rig... I have the patient contacts required to get in to a program, but I'd have to say they weren't quality contacts.

I'm a college educated, detail oriented, and made the mistake of going to grad school instead of switching to nursing.

Should I hang up the idea? Try to find an IFT gig on the side to get more field experience? Or any other thoughts?
maybe AEMT to get some ALS contacts but not be the "head honcho" and then go up to medic from there?

OP
OP
EMDispatch

EMDispatch

IAED EMD-Q/EMT
maybe AEMT to get some ALS contacts but not be the "head honcho" and then go up to medic from there?

Yeah that's what I'm thinking

VentMonkey

Family Guy