The one piece of advice you wish you had gotten...

Danson

Forum Crew Member
I am a brand new EMT-B who is about to start my first job in one week. I have been cruising this site and trying to pull as much information as I can in order to be a more well informed, thoughtful and respectable EMT when I do start.

I know to avoid becoming a "whacker." I know that I am humble and have so much to learn from other EMTs and Medics, and that I never want to stop learning.

I have learned ways to deal with stress and how to stay healthy.

I have learned how much gear I NEED to carry and the best to get when I do need it.

I have learned so much and I thank you all who have posted in the past, posted to me and those who continue to post and share your knowlege.

What I want to know now is if there was ever a time when you thought, "Hey, I wish somebody had told me that before I started!"

What would you want to tell your past self: your former self just about to start his/her first job?

I know that everything I have learned here and in class only acts as supplemental knowlege to what I will actually learn in the field. But I am on a mission to never stop my learning process.

Any helpfull advice is appreciated.

Thank you! B)

Veneficus

Forum Chief
What I want to know now is if there was ever a time when you thought, "Hey, I wish somebody had told me that before I started!"

Really wish somebody would have told me patients have more than one disease at a time so they don't fit nicely into categories like "CHF" "MI" "CVA" etc.

especially with all those damn endocrine disorders.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
If they look like they're about to vomit, they probably are.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Ask yourself "What's next?".

Paramedic? Nurse? MD? Respiratory Tech? Law School?

Besides that, seconds don't ususally count, but seconds add up.

OP
OP
Danson

Danson

Forum Crew Member
Hey guys, thanks for the responses!