Tachycardia

CPRinProgress

Forum Lieutenant
I was working as a lifeguard today and it was brought to my attention, since I am an EMT, that a kid had a very fast heart rate. When I walked up to him he did not seem to be in any distress but when I took his pulse it was at 150. I could feel it in his chest. I told them to call 911 and I put him on oxygen. He didn't have any other complaints. Circulation x4 extremities. He said he hit his head 10 mins prior and his pupils were dialated but he said it did not hurt when he hit. When paramedics arriver they told him to bear down. This immediately slowed his rate. Any thoughts about what happened and why bearing down slowed his rate?

exodus

Forum Deputy Chief
Look up vagal maneuvers.

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
What kind of history did the patient have? How about the remainder of his presentation and assessment? History of tachyarrythmias? Drug or stimulant use? I doubt hitting his head had anything to do with the problem in this case. The obvious answer would be SVT resolved by parasympathetic stimulation from bearing down. Vagal maneuvers such as these are typically recommended prior to pharmacological treatments of these rhythms as they are often effective in terminating them with an endogenous release of acetylcholine.

OP
OP
C

CPRinProgress

Forum Lieutenant
What kind of history did the patient have? How about the remainder of his presentation and assessment? History of tachyarrythmias? Drug or stimulant use? I doubt hitting his head had anything to do with the problem in this case. The obvious answer would be SVT resolved by parasympathetic stimulation from bearing down. Vagal maneuvers such as these are typically recommended prior to pharmacological treatments of these rhythms as they are often effective in terminating them with an endogenous release of acetylcholine.
No history, no meds. Nothing was wrong with him except the tachycardia.

OP
OP
C

CPRinProgress

Forum Lieutenant