Student question about Tidal Volume!

ShelbyB

Forum Ride Along
Hello everyone, I am new to the site and hoping to get some help. I am currently a student and learning about Tidal Volume. I understand the equation for Minute Volume. However, how do you determine Tidal volume in any given patient? Do you use a specialized machine? Do you eyeball it based on breathing regularity/irregularity? What I'm trying to say is that I know the equations and mL rates, I just want to know how to get it during a real situation. I'm sure I will learn this during my clinicals, but I'd like to be prepared in advance.Thank you!

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Tidal volume is 5-10mL/kg of ideal body weight. Each person has a different tidal volume
Real world? Squeeze the BVM until you get gentle chest rise. A pediatric BVM actually has enough volume to bag most adults too, so you don't risk barotrauma in the event you start squeezing the bag for all its worth.

CALEMT

The Other Guy/ Paramaybe?

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
That tends to go without saying. No matter what you're doing with a BVM, if you can't make a good face seal, you're shooting yourself in the foot.
*providing you have a good face seal of course.

EpiEMS

Forum Deputy Chief
@ShelbyB, if the NREMT exam asks you, ~500mL is your average adult* person's tidal volume. In practice, bag for chest rise.

(@TransportJockey said it better than I did.)

MonkeyArrow

Forum Asst. Chief
To accurately determine a person’s tidal volume, one would usually expect the patient to be on a ventilator, or otherwise in an outpatient setting, by a pulmonary function test.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Unless you are dealing with ventilators knowing the tidal volume isn’t going to offer any help. If they need to be bagged just bag until you see the chest start to rise and then stop.

If you really are interested then the normal tidal volume is roughly 5-10mL/KG of their ideal body weight (not actual weight).

VentMonkey

Family Guy