Standards for upgrading BLS to ALS

BenP

Forum Ride Along
I am an EMT-B working in OC/LA, California. Yesterday I had a BLS call in OC which I'm having afterthoughts about. Without going into the details, I'm trying to figure out if I missed any signs to upgrade it to ALS. I've been scouring my resources from training and the web for strict standards for BLS to ALS upgrade; things like BP cut-off ranges, specific chief complaints, etc., but I'm not having luck finding an authoritative breakdown of ALS/BLS. Is there a go-to source for these standards anywhere?

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
You can go into some details. Don't give a name, company, or exact location. Otherwise, we're not exactly in danger of figuring out which BLS call in OC was you...

This is all situationally dependent without strict guidelines.

OP
OP
B

BenP

Forum Ride Along
It's not that I'm worried about being associated with the call. I think I handled it to the best of my abilities without an ALS assist. For my own knowledge, I want to know the guidelines for what constitutes an ALS vs a BLS call. The call itself is not why I'm asking for a resource to help make the distinction. The fire department paramedics I've worked with have medical guidelines for handling calls and judging whether they are BLS or ALS. I get sent to a call like this, and similarly I need to have a better idea of what requires an upgrade. I know I have more senior EMT-B supervisors who can help me make the call and take some of the responsibility away from myself, but how are they better qualified than me to make the decision if there are no clear guidelines in place?

LACoGurneyjockey

Forum Asst. Chief
There are absolutely clear guidelines. They're called protocols. Both LA and OC ems have them on their respective websites. There is no BP cut off, no matter how many people will tell you. There is "shock symptoms", but a BP less than 90 does not constitute shock alone. There is no max BP.