Single Engine Safety

VentMonkey

Family Guy
This is nothing new to the HEMS community, and is very much a "hot button" issue with some providers swearing that IFR rated twin engine programs are the only way to go allowing at least the reaction time to look for a safe landing (in theory) once you have an engine failure. His paramedic did ask a valid question, and it was neat he turned it into an article.

My program is a single engine VFR program, and this actually seems to be the trend with majority of most North American HEMS operations. Cost factors and flight plans are what I hear cited most often in regards to the practicality of a single engine VFR program vs. the costliness of an IFR program. I'm still pretty new to the flight aspect itself, but as time goes by more and more makes sense, or it doesn't...and we don't go.

Thanks for posting it. It definitely offers insight for anyone looking to jump blindly into HEMS (no pun intended). Maybe @CANMAN will make a cameo regarding the article, he's a well seasoned flight guy.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
This is nothing new to the HEMS community, and is very much a "hot button" issue with some providers swearing that IFR rated twin engine programs are the only way to go allowing at least the reaction time to look for a safe landing (in theory) once you have an engine failure. His paramedic did ask a valid question, and it was neat he turned it into an article.

My program is a single engine VFR program, and this actually seems to be the trend with majority of most North American HEMS operations. Cost factors and flight plans are what I hear cited most often in regards to the practicality of a single engine VFR program vs. the costliness of an IFR program. I'm still pretty new to the flight aspect itself, but as time goes by more and more makes sense, or it doesn't...and we don't go.