Shifts in California? Hours?

tawnymarie

Forum Probie
Hello,

So I am new to California...Only been here a few years. I know the EMS agencies back home were all county or city affiliated. Since moving to California I've noticed A LOT of private companies. What are the standard shifts like for these companies usually? Are they 24 hour? 8 hour? I'd be curious to know from others who live in the SF Bay Area or work for agencies in California. My parents were both Paramedics and always did 24's and even a few full weekend shifts but, they were employed by the city or county.

Also, are these agencies usually student friendly? If I'm in class during the week do they offer just weekend shifts? I know back home 36 hour weekend shifts are of the norm but, here it seems different.

Thank You!

BeachMedic

Forum Lieutenant
Hello,

So I am new to California...Only been here a few years. I know the EMS agencies back home were all county or city affiliated. Since moving to California I've noticed A LOT of private companies. What are the standard shifts like for these companies usually? Are they 24 hour? 8 hour? I'd be curious to know from others who live in the SF Bay Area or work for agencies in California. My parents were both Paramedics and always did 24's and even a few full weekend shifts but, they were employed by the city or county.

Also, are these agencies usually student friendly? If I'm in class during the week do they offer just weekend shifts? I know back home 36 hour weekend shifts are of the norm but, here it seems different.

Thank You!

As far as I know the Bay Area is mostly 12 hour shifts. Some on a 3/4 day schedule. Some a straight 4 day week. A few 24s are available if you are lucky and hired at the right time; or if you get some seniority.

I've worked in both Alameda and Santa Cruz County. I live in Santa Clara County.