Seeking Advice

EMTTheo16

Forum Probie
Hi guys,
I just earned my EMT-B rating, but I have been a volunteer driver on my Rescue Squad for a while. I have a major concern about my partner. He recently broke up with his girlfriend of 2 weeks, and he started hanging out with another guy on the squad, who has a past criminal record. Lately he has gone out drinking A LOT. Like, 3-4 nights a week. Im not talking about a glass of wine or beer at dinner. He gets pretty intoxicated. At first, I didnt think it was a big deal. But last night he left his work, told me he was coming to run calls with me at the squad. I found out this morning he went out and got drunk with his buddy, so he ditched his shift. I dont know what to do. I dont have any experience handling issues like this, and I dont want to ruin his good reputation. Should I tell my Captain? I dont know what to do

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Did you talk to HIM and express your concern?

Maybe try that first.

If you’re a friend who legitimately cares, you should have a chat.

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
Talk to your friend.
If that doesn't work, and it directly effects your or his ability to work, talk to your supervisor.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
EMTTheo16, why would you go to anyone other than your friend to discuss this? It doesn't sound like a business matter. As long as he's sober when he's running calls, he can do whatever he likes on his own time. If you're concerned about his behavior, feel free to speak with him about it.

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
so many questions.......
He recently broke up with his girlfriend of 2 weeks
maybe they were in love?
and he started hanging out with another guy on the squad, who has a past criminal record.
so your squad allowed this guy to join who has a criminal record? or was the infraction not that big of a deal to prevent him from joining?