OutdoorEd

Forum Ride Along
Hey everyone I'm new to the site and I made the account for this specific set of questions/issues that I am having. I'll try to make it as concise as possible but it's an issue that I am having a lot of trouble understanding fully. I've been doing research on my own, looking at California's scope of practice and calling my counties EMS cert body but I haven't heard back yet about my specific issues. So I'm looking to you all for some help!

I am an EMT-1 in a California county. I work at an outdoor school (as part of a counties public education program) as their official EMT, that is approximately 60 minutes away from a hospital, and it takes about that long for an ambulance to reach our site. We do not have any bls supplies beyond bandages and microshields.

I am trying to push for opa's, npa's, suction, a bvm, occlusive dressings, a tourniquet, and splints (including traction ideally). I am being told by the county that I would require a doctors standing orders or a prescription from a doctor to legally use these things, and they are unwilling to purchase the supplies without those orders. I am wondering if this is truly the case.

As an EMT who is employed as such is it within my scope of practice to use those medical supplies without orders from a doctor in emergency situations? Do I need approval from the county (who does not have a doctor or any medically trained personnel to say yes or no) to possess and use these things? Do I need some sort of liability insurance? Who is liable if it turns out I'm a complete idiot and mess up (I'm thinking its only myself since I am an EMT)?