Scene-Safety/ Laws protecting EMS professionals

Maya

Forum Lieutenant
I'm pretty new to EMS, just got my EMT-B License and looking for jobs. I hear a lot about the dangers that EMTs and paramedics face on calls, and what worries me the most is scene-safety, as you never really know what you're going to find on-scene. You may be told one thing by dispatch and then you find the situation is something entirely different when you walk on-scene.

In particular, 5150's, domestic disputes, alcoholics, and drug-addicts (PCP -- yikes!) worry me the most (not to mention patients falsifying claims and unjustly suing EMTs/EMS providers).

Those of you who have been in the profession for some time, do you have any advice or stories? One of my EMT instructors always emphasized CYA (cover your ***) with respect to documenting EVERYTHING and managing c-spine on patients who clearly don't even need it. This would protect against potential lawsuits. Do you have any other advice?

Do laws even properly protect us? If I get attacked by a patient, not only are my health and well-being compromised, but also, potentially, my source of income, as I may be unable to continue working in EMS. I'm rather skeptical that employers/insurance companies will sufficiently compensate me, were something to happen.

One thing that really pissed me off, when I learned about it in EMT class, was the Good Samaritan Act (I don't know about other states, but here in CA, it doesn't really protect you). We put our lives on the line when we stop to provide help in an emergency. The person you're helping can then turn around and sue you, if something goes wrong. I hate to say it, but since I'm not legally protected as a certified EMT, I wouldn't stop to help someone in an emergency when I'm off-duty. I *HATE* to say that! It just isn't worth it to me to put my EMT License on the line, not to mention, my income and every penny I own (although that's currently in the ..uhmm, negative.. lol).