Scared of overworking myself?

spnjsquad

Forum Crew Member
Hey, I am currently a student in high school working on one company for 5hrs on a weeknight and 5 on a weekend. I have no problem with this, but I am thinking of joining a second company, and with that, I would have to work more hours. This would be about 5 more hours a weekend in the morning, with my current company 5 hours in the afternoon. Do you think that 10 hours on one company and soon to be 5 on another a week is too much for a high school student? I don't think that it should affect me too bad. I have worked saturdays from 8am to 11pm before (mostly because of stand-by's), but that was only once. I would be working 10 hours every weekend, and 5 on a weeknight a couple nights before that day. What is your opinion? Am I overworking myself a bit? Should I just stay on my first company? Please help, responses would be greatly appreciated.

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
I worked roughly 25-30hrs/wk in retail starting my junior year, while being a competitive runner and doing well in school at the same time. It's all about time management.

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Will any of it pay?

OP
OP
spnjsquad

spnjsquad

Forum Crew Member

Anjel

Forum Angel
Unfortunately no. Both of these are town run BLS volunteer companies.

It's great you want to get involved and volunteer. How are your grades in school? Are you a senior?

I would focus very hard on school and getting into college. Don't stretch yourself thin donating your time for free.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Don't grow up too fast if you don't have to. You'll look back and regret missing those random adventures with your friends. If you don't have to work both I wouldn't, personally. With that said the schedule you're talking about is easily doable.

OP
OP
spnjsquad

spnjsquad

Forum Crew Member
It's great you want to get involved and volunteer. How are your grades in school? Are you a senior?