SafetyPro is back in service

SafetyPro2

Forum Safety Officer
Since I've been gone so long, figured reintroductions were in order.

My name's Chris. I'm a long-absent moderator here, have been a member of the forum since back in 2004 (wow, time flies and all that). I've been gone for awhile due to a lot of other calls on my personal time, but am back now.

From 2003 until this past April, I was a volunteer firefighter with the Sierra Madre Fire Department in Los Angeles County. During my active time there, SMFD was a BLS department operating two ambulances and was the only city in LA County that did not provide ALS level care in any capacity. That changed a couple months ago when the city implemented a paid part-time Paramedic program to augment the VFD, and it seems to be working well from what I hear. For most of my time with SMFD, I was a Firefighter, but was promoted to Engineer last September. I spent a lot of time on the ambulance during my tenure there...EMS has always been my first love in the fire service. Even though I've left the area (see below), I'm still on SMFD in an advisory capacity as their Safety Officer.

In April, I left Southern California to take a paid position as Emergency Planner and Fire Captain with the UC Santa Cruz Fire Department. We're a full career department on the UCSC campus and provide BLS first response (with ALS service provided by AMR through county contract). Never really expected to become a career guy, but I'm loving every minute of it. Since then, I've been in the process of getting my family relocated up here, and we just finished our first week back together.