Rural Metro

almostglue

Forum Ride Along
So I've been an EMT for... 3 years now (doesn't seem like it) but I work for the volunteer service at my university. This summer I was looking to get a job at a city/county ambulance service to get more experience and see some more interesting stuff. I get tired of the drunks and the whiners (which I know come with every service, but that's about all we get at my school). The only service really near my home is Rural Metro. I've heard some mixed reviews about it, but I'm hoping the bad stories are more about bad medics than the company itself. Anyone here know anything about the hiring process for Rural Metro (exam, interview, etc.) and what it's like to work for them (how they operate, how they treat their people)? I'm in Atlanta, GA; but the process is probably similar across the country. By the way, I'm an EMT-I. If anyone has any insight it would be greatly appreciated!

coloradoemt

Forum Asst. Chief
I work for RM Colorado. I like it. I would be willing to bet there are the same ammount of bad things said about every service you could talk about. Most of the bad I hear is from a few who simply just do not "fit" in. Just because you can get hired by an outfit does it mean it is the right job for you. I would suggest if you want to, go for it. You may find out that the stories were just stories. The same can be said for partners. You may talk with 10 people that cannot stand to work with a certain individual. You can listen to them and not work with this person either, or try a shift and find out they are the perfect partner for you. As far as the hiring process, I do interviews, clearance rides, etc. here. I will find out if it is the same there and get back to you.

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
Almostglue... Welcome to EMTLife!

And CO, thanks for helping him/her out. :)

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
almostglue said: