Rock Med Volunteer

Alas

Forum Crew Member
So I signed up for an upcoming concert with Rock Med as an EMT this saturday. I informed by email that this would be my first time with Rock Med and if what i would need to know or do. They replied back with "you're on the list".
What can i expect from volunteering at one of the venues with Rock Med? I have zero emt experience, but i know my material well. I just show up and tell them I'm volunteering? Uniforms?

Thank you!
Alas

Last edited by a moderator:

1badassEMT-I

Forum Lieutenant
So I signed up for an upcoming concert with Rock Med as an EMT this saturday. I informed by email that this would be my first time with Rock Med and if what i would need to know or do. They replied back with "you're on the list".
What can i expect from volunteering at one of the venues with Rock Med? I have zero emt experience, but i know my material well. I just show up and tell them I'm volunteering? Uniforms?

Thank you!
Alas

What is Rock Med? I assume it is a Rock concert. As with many events that attract large crowds there is a posibilty for heat related injuries, maybe a overdose, falls, etc. Or maybe just a fun time for all and nothings happens. I guess it depends on the crowd. Assuming it is of this nature of event. The people in charge of the event will direct in the way they want of your services I am sure. Let us know how it turns out. Have fun.

Stew

Forum Crew Member
What is Rock Med?
It's a volunteer 'standby' medical service offered by the Haight Ashury free clinics in San Francisco. My understanding of their services is that they provide from EMT upwards in medical support for concerts and events throughout the SF Bay area.

http://www.rockmed.org/

Alas, let me know how you go with your shift, wouldn't mind trying to have a chat to the organisers next time I'm over there.

1badassEMT-I

Forum Lieutenant