Reconsidering EMS

Status
Not open for further replies.

AaronKM

Forum Ride Along
Perhaps I shouldn't be.

Back in 2013 I gave a run at EMS as an EMT in a small town. I did very well in the class, but class is class and the emergency scene is the emergency scene. Sometimes I did well, followed my training, and got the job done. Other times I froze up. One time I was asked to get a blood sugar level on an older gentleman very visibly on his last day alive. My hands were shaking so bad I couldn't do it. The calls that did not go well led my lead EMT to tell me point blank that I was below average and I wasn't going to make it. I listened to him and quit. Sometimes it was just hard to operate in an emergency situation. I don't know if that's because I was ultra-green or because I'm just not cut out for the work.

Now a few years later I'm trying to figure out my educational/occupational path. I worked as a construction painter for a few summers. If I went back I could make 16/hr out of the gate and top out around 25, more if I'm working for myself. I'm considering doing that as a full time gig. Painting is fun and rewarding in it's own right but a lot of it is busy work. Or I can continue my education, though I'm not sure which direction.

My grandmother, bless her heart, brought up EMS, and how excited about it I used to be. She asked if I enjoyed it. Yes, as insane as emergencies are, it certainly was rewarding. Best job I ever had bar none. She told me to think about trying it again.