Recertification after lapse

Packman

Forum Ride Along
Hi folks,

I was an EMT-B in MA back in the day. My certification expired, probably close to 15-years ago. I am now trying to become certified in NY.

Anybody have any suggestions on how to do this as painlessly as possible? I have a wife and two young kids, and I work a full time job, so the standard (for volly's in my area) two days a week 6-10 PM for six months holds little appeal to me. It's hard enough to make it to drill Saturday mornings and go to calls as a driver / gopher.

I know that quick courses are looked down upon here, but I've been told by the training director of my agency that my skills are sharp despite the length of time since I last was certified. I there any way to challenge the exam for someone like me?

Thanks for any suggestions!

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Yes there is!!

As soon as you complete a full and complete course you will be eligible to challenge the exam!!

(sarcasm yet serious)

If you want to do it, you will do it, no shortcuts.

OP
OP
P

Packman

Forum Ride Along
Gee, thanks for the valuable advice. (I guess I got what I paid for it!)

I'm going to do the course if I need to. I just wanted to see if anyone knew of something I was missing.

So be it.

jrm818

Forum Captain
I can pretty much guarantee you you'll need to take the EMT course, and that's the way it should be. 15 years is a long time - and though EMT-B is, well, very basic, some things have changed. MA only lets you shortcut within one year of the lapse, and even then you have to take a refresher. Since you never held a NY cert, I can't believe they'd cut you any slack.