Rapid Trauma Assessment vs Focussed Assessment

ScoopAndRun

Forum Ride Along
Hello Yins, This is my first post at EMTLIFE. I'm a first responder student.

I've got the rapid trauma assessment down cold, but I'm having trouble laying out in tabular form the specific overlap and the specific differences between these two levels of assessment. I've read a lot of text, but have yet to find a lawyeristic tabular sort of comparison and so remain confused. So please forgive me for trying to focus my question in the form of a box.....

=================

QUESTION 1) (True or False)

"A Focussed Assessment would include all of the parts of a Rapid Trauma Assessment plus additional things too"

If you'd like to explain and discuss and describe, PLEASE DO and I THANK YOU. But please start off with "true" or "false".

QUESTION 2)

If you answered "True" above, please make a list of the additional things you'd do for a focused assessment above and beyond the part you would do for a Rapid Trauma assessment.

Thanks for input,
ScoopAndRun, Pennsylvania

Aprz

The New Beach Medic
Ugh, I don't like doing this... It feels like a homework question especially with your directions I feel like you are more interested in getting an answer for the question rather than a reasoning, but since it's only one, I'll do it for you.

FALSE

In the beginning, you size-up the scene and when you do your initial assessment, you'll determine whether the patient is a low/high priority (or in EMS slang "load 'n go"/"scoop 'n go" or "stay 'n play") based on their ABCs and mentality (some people are taught ABCD, D for disability which I guess is there way of saying mentality also, lol). For trauma with a significant mechanism of injury (MOI) or altered "unreliable" patients, your school would likely want you to do a rapid assessment, but for trauma patients without a significant MOI that aren't altered or medical patient that is reliable, you will do a focus assessment.